Guest post for David Nilsen at “The Screaming Kettle at Home”

Today I have the opportunity to share my 2nd ever guest post with David Nilsen who blogs at “The Screaming Kettle at Home”.  David and his wife recently went through a church transition and he wrote an excellent blog series related to that transition.

When David tweeted that he would be looking for guest bloggers for this week, I realized that I had a few church transition stories too — I volunteered and he graciously accepted.  This post is about when my wife and I moved to a pretty traditional church that was in transition itself….

**************************************************************

Church Transition or Weird Dream? Take your pick….

You ever have one of those dreams? You know the one.  You’re the teacher, it’s the 1st day of school, and just before the kids walk in, you realize you’re in your underwear? (I actually had that dream.)

Going to a new church can be nearly as dreadful, especially when you walk in the door and are suddenly hit with that sense of ‘vuja dey’ – the strange feeling that you’ve never seen anything like this before!

One of the more memorable church transitions for my wife and
I – the one that had the most “weird dream” qualities – was back in 1989, a few years after we were married.

To continue reading go to David’s page – the Home Kettle:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest post for David Nilsen at “The Screaming Kettle at Home”

  1. 50 bonus points to anyone who can correctly identify everyone in the picture here! (You don’t need to name the gent who’s looking towards the overhead screen… I think he was a guest missionary that day.) This pic was taken before Valerie and I joined the team….

    I’m not sure, but the back of the head with the blue shirt in the lower left corner might be me. We normally sat in the 2nd row on the left side, so that’s the right spot….

    • Tena Clark says:

      Hey Dan
      Tena Clark, here, and Thanks for calling me a ‘lovely lady’! How sweet of you. Those were good ole days! Thanks for sharing. I am blessed to know you and Valerie! May our Heavenly Father continue to pour out His favor on your family!
      Love you
      Tena Clark

Leave a Reply

